The turning of a new year somehow lends some magic to our ability as human beings to go out on a limb and publicly declare goals, as though there is a much better chance at their achievement than at any other time of the year. Personally, though, I’ve found myself a bigger disciple of an annual reflection and life goals recalibration as I near my birthday, because really, New Year’s Resolutions have fallen slaves to bad publicity and a general lack of credibility.

However, as 2014 came to fore a few hours ago, I considered for a brief moment that while resolutions seemed a little flimsy for my taste, it was energizing to think of having a strong enough resolve to be able to make the changes that I want in my life, and to achieve what I set out to do. As human beings, we are meaning-makers, and for the moment, it brings me great joy to look forward to the year that 2014 could be, as I intend to make it a Year of (Unshakeable) Resolve.

What do you resolve to do this year?

I am looking forward to better health, a more thoughtful and deliberate design to how I live, and days filled with love and laughter spent with people who mean the world to me. There will be traveling, (re)learning languages, kendo, good food, beautiful music, and everything else that I will think to do for the year, and certainly, it will be amazing.

